Welcome to the British Colloquium for Theoretical Computer Science 2018.

26 - 28 March 2018

Royal Holloway, University of London
Department of Computer Science

The purpose of BCTCS is to bring together researchers in theoretical computer science to present their research and discuss future directions.
It aims to provide an environment in which PhD students can present their work, and get into contact with their peers and experienced researchers.
The scope of the colloquium includes all aspects of theoretical computer science, including automata theory, algorithms, complexity theory, semantics, formal methods, concurrency, types, languages and logics.

csrhul rhul


Participants wishing to give a 30 minute contributed talk on any topic in the scope of the colloquium should email a title and abstract to bctcs18 [at] cs.rhul.ac.uk. Presentations from research students and early career researchers are particularly encouraged. Work need not be original and is not formally published. Contributions are not peer reviewed. The goal is discussion, networking, and feedback.

Submission deadline: 1 February 2018


Registration with accommodation should take place before 1 March 2018. Registration without accommodation should take place before 8 March 2018. A registration link will be available soon.


The London Mathematical Society invited speaker
  • JHopcroft John E. Hopcroft
    Cornell University
    title: Research in Deep Learning
    bio: Professor Hopcroft is a faculty member at Cornell university. He received the Turing award in 1986 and is a member of the NAS and NAE. He received the China Friendship Award in 2016, the highest award China will give a foreigner.
Invited speakers


Programme to be added.



Information to be added.


Information to be added.


Information to be added.


If you have any questions or inquiries about bctcs2018 you can contact us

  • via email at bctcs18 [at] cs.rhul.ac.uk
  • or at the following address:
    British Colloquium for Theoretical Computer Science 2018
    Matthew Hague
    Department of Computer Science
    Royal Holloway, University of London
    TW20 0EX